Review: To Aru Kagaku no Railgun – Saten Ruiko – Kotobukiya 1/8 Figure

This is my first review and I’ve decided to review my lovely Saten Ruiko 1/8 scale figure by Kotobukiya.

Character summary

Saten Ruiko is a elementary school girl and she attends school with her best friend Uiharu Kazari. She has a main role in the Toaru Kagaku no Railgun series. She is a level 0 esper and she always wears her characteristic white flower on the left side of her hair.

Base: 7/10

When I first saw her prototype pictures I wished for the final product to have the same clear base as in the pictures, but unfortunately they went with another one as with most figures.
The first bad thing about the base is the color, it’s not that bad, but the orange-like color doesn’t really match with the figure itself. But it is railgun’s title color, so I guess they wanted to match that. The second thing is the size of the base. It’s huge! Does she really need such a big base? I suppose it’s meant for displaying Uiharu with her on the base, but the thing that really bugs me is all the holes in the base. I could have been satisfied with two holes to move her around to display her with Uiharu, but four is a bit too many.
It probably sounds like I’m describing the worst base ever, but that’s really not the case. You get used to it pretty quickly. Despite it taking a lot of place, now I haven’t got that much of a problem with it anymore.
My complaints about the size will probably disappear if I ever purchase Uiharu.

Sculpting: 9/10

I love the sculpting of this figure! I love the detailed skirt and necktie (or what you call it). Also, her socks looks really nice too! The hair is marvelous, especially from the back and her face looks so cute and innocent. I haven’t really got any problems with her sculpting, just maybe that the top of her head looks a bit more like a square than in the prototype pictures, but I got used to that pretty fast.

Painting: 9/10

The painting is great, I love the details like her skirt being darker further down and the creases on her top. The thing I love most though is her shoes, they’re so shiny and perfect!
The only thing that could have been done better is the decal for her phone. It looks a bit ugly, and it’s looks aren’t really true to the anime, but it doesn’t really matter since you usually don’t look at the phone that close up. Also, her eye decals seems to be a bit shiny, but it could be my fault who have placed her so that her eyes get hit by light or something.

Posing: 10/10

I love that Kotobukiya went with a rather innocent pose (unlike Alter’s one), that shows that Ruiko has got a cuter side too, not only her skirt-flipping side. She looks really cute in this pose and I love that you can see her belly between the skirt and the top.
There really isn’t anything that bugs me about the pose, so that’s great!

Final thoughts – Score: 9/10 (8,75)

Kotobukiya did a great job with this figure, she just becomes lovelier and lovelier
each day! So this figure is definitely a buy. I got her from AmiAmi for 3130 yen (plus shipping and customs) and it was really worth it. All of you Railgun fans out there (who hasn’t already got this figure), go and get her!

Name: Saten Ruiko (佐天 涙子)
Origin: To Aru Kagaku no Railgun (とある科学の超電磁砲(レールガン))
Publisher: Kotobukiya (コトブキヤ)
Released: 2011/05
Reviewer: Ellis
Buy: Play-Asia | Plamoya

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

