Review: Durarara!! – Orihara Izaya – ALTAiR – 1/8 Figure


Orihara Izaya is a powerful and skilled underground informant. He usually gives information for his own enjoyment, and claims to love the entire human race, minus Heiwajima Shizuo. Izaya likes to start fights with him and then let Shizuo chase him around. He is also a member of the Dollars.

This figure was made by Alter and was released on February 16th, 2012. It was sculpted by Numakura Toshiaki.

This will be my first Alter figure and if the rumors are true, he must be Alter perfect so let’s see how good he is.

Let’s start with the box!

Dimensions:
Height: 27 cm (10.62 in)
Width: 16 cm (6.29 in)
Depth: 16 cm (6.29 in)
Diagonal: 31,3 cm (12.32 in)

Packaging: 9/10

Such a good first impression. Even the box sizes are perfect, I measured it twice to see if there was a mm out of place but I could not find anything. This is a small package and it can be shipped with SAL. A nice black and red pattern was used for the box. At the front you can see Ascii Media Works official sticker, ALTAiR series logo, the name of the character in romaji as well as the name of the series. From the front window, you can see Izaya.
At the back you can see Izaya’s back as well as his optional parts, his knife and cell phone. There is also a picture with Izaya displayed with his cell phone as well as the name of the series and character in kanji.

The way Izaya’s name goes around his box was really beautiful to see. Alter surely can make nice designs. From the sides you can see the figure displayed with his knife and it also shows us a beautiful background of Ikebukuro.

Here you can see a window on the upper part of the box and some warnings at the bottom. I did not find the window on the upper part too useful but I guess it is the standards design. I cannot read the bottom at all, but I suppose those are choking hazard warnings as well as details of the figure and information about Alter

A typical two-piece blister was used to protect the figure. Alter used tape to avoid the blister opening by itself. The blister only had four joining points so this was appreciated.

A view from the sides.

Here you can see Izaya’s accessories as well as an extra arm to hold his cell phone.

Here you can see Izaya’s full body inside the blister as well as his face.

Inside the box you can find a piece of paper with instructions on how to put the optional parts. If you cannot read kanji, do not worry because the images are explicit enough for everyone to understand. The instructions were appreciated and a nice detail.

Nothing worth mentioning about the inside of the box but that the red and black pattern matches the rest of the box.

Base: 8/10

Izaya’s base is nothing special. It is a circle but I am used to circles for bases of male figures so I cannot say I am surprised about this. The pattern is nice and matches Izaya. My only complaint is that maybe Alter could have put Izaya’s name instead of the name of the series but that is only my opinion. Its diametre is about 10,1 cm.

It is easy to mount Izaya on his base but you have to be careful while unmounting him or you may damage something. You can display him without his base but he might fall because he does not have too much balance. It is at your criteria.

Sculpting: 9/10

○●◌●○◌○●◌●○

○●◌●○◌○●◌●○

Starting with his face, it looks fantastic. Every detail from his cat-looking eyes to his smirk was sculpted with care. I particularly loved the way the eyebrows curved, matching perfectly the anime character design. Izaya’s smirk was a must and it looks marvelous with his teeth showing. His face allows you to play with angles to make more expressions.

His black hair looks beautiful. The way it was sculpted is really different from the other male figures I own. Toshiaki surprised me here. It is detailed and matches Izaya nicely. The line that divides the two pieces of hair is not distractive at all and if you look closely, you will be able to see some shadows painted at the end of his hair, giving us a nice detail.

Izaya has such an slender body that was executed perfectly here. His collarbone attracted my attention immediately and the V-Neck makes it highlight even more. His grey shirt looks fantastic and I loved the care even the little of creases was sculpted. Talking about creases, the ones his shirt makes being inside his pants are such a tease and make his hips stand out nicely. I am extremely happy about the way his jacket was sculpted. The “flying with the wind” effect is marvelous, there is not a single crease out of place and they emphasize Izaya’s silhouette wonderfully. The details on the hood look also fantastic.

A view from the sides. I have read that most buyers of this figure had seen that his detachable arm is a little loose, and it is true. It does not hold properly into his socket and leaves a gap which is a little distractive if we compare it to his left arm. It makes the arm easy to remove but I guess that is not too much of an advantage.

Alter is giving me such a nice first impression. I love men with nice nails and Izaya has the nicest ones I have seen to date. Sadly, the pictures I took do not make those nails any justice, but believe me when I say the are fantastic. His right hand looks nice from any angle and I loved the care the ring was painted.

I am going to say that Numakura Toshiaki did not get lazy sculpting this figure, even Izaya’s left hand, barely visible because it is hidden inside his pocket, has nice details, like his other ring (sadly, it is a real pain to take a photograph of his left hand ring, you will have to see it yourself when you get him. I will try to shoot it someday, though) Even when useless, Numakura Toshiaki detailed his right jacket pocket. I had doubts what was it at first until I realised it was his other pocket. “I cannot believe how detailed he looks!” I said to myself, I am starting to believe the rumours about Alter being perfect. If you look closely, you can see his lovely pelvic bone. A great detail considering ALTAiR is a male figure line for women. Such a teasing, you will not resist the temptation of touching them.

I am sorry but I really, really do not know the way the white parts at the end of his jacket are called. All I can say is it matches the anime character design and that is looks awesome. The creases that are created by his left hand stretching his pocket look so natural and are fantastic.

Sadly, or at least in this figure, Izaya does not own dat butt. It is kind of flat and it cannot be appreciated with his jacket on the way. On the other hand, the front zone looks really manly for a feminine guy like Izaya. Of course, you will doubt of a second of that waist if not from a girl if you were only to see the picture. His belt looks great as well as the creases around his thighs.

Here we can see a nice pair of legs; they match perfectly the anime character design and were sculpted wonderfully. Girly legs for a guy that pretends to be a girl on the internet? I believe it is just a nice coincidence. I loved how Numakura Toshiaki got the sewing point of his trousers right and that he even bothered to put them there.

The back of his knees are so nice so see and touch. The creases and shadows around them looks perfectly natural. No sculpting issues to complain about at all.

No issues to report with his shoes. I had a hard time trying to find out what kind of shoes does Izaya have and I was unsuccessful. If someone knows, please tell me.

I loved how smooth his shoes look. They both look identical and were sculpted carefully. From head to toes, this figure exceeded my expectations. I must say that Alter gave me a tremendous first impression and I am glad I ordered this guy but I am going to talk more about it at the end.

Now we are going to see the first non-optional item: His knife. It is incredibly detailed and looks extremely realistic; I loved how the cutting edge was performed. Its installation is really straight-forward so you will not have troubles with it. Remember that the thumb must touch the knife for it to be perfectly placed.

○●◌●○◌○●◌●○

○●◌●○◌○●◌●○

Here we have the only optional parts: Izaya’s cell phone and bent arm to hold it. His cell phone was detailed perfectly. If you have a magnifying glass or really good eyes, you will be able to see all the details. Sadly, my camera is not that good so the pictures cannot show its details but I can tell you that it says the time (01:38 a.m.), he has full signal, he has used at least 10% of his battery and that he is calling Heiwajima Shizuo. Who calls a guy he hates at 01:38 a.m.? A guy that does not want his enemy to sleep I guess.

His bent arm looks great and it is as detailed as his other right arm. Installing the cell phone into his arm is a bit tricky and you may transfer some paint in the process so be extra careful here. If you happened to transfer some paint, try fixing it with a white eraser. Follow Alter’s instructions and you will be fine.

Installing the bent arm is easy and very straight-forward. The arm may be a bit loose but I doubt it will fall. It may leave a little gap, though.


The strap is kind of posable, so you can simulate gravity pulling it down if you want.

○●◌●○◌○●◌●○

○●◌●○◌○●◌●○

Painting: 9/10

I am truly amazed by the paint job Alter performed here. It looks smooth and detailed and I loved it from the shadows of his hair to his beautiful skin and I could not find a single fault. I read some comments about white marks on this shirt, but mine came flawless. I guess I was lucky.

Posing: 9/10

Such a nice posing that matches Izaya’s personality perfectly. The way he is stretching his jacket while exposing his well-toned body makes us remember his trademark pose when he pulls off his jacket entirely. You have two displaying options and each of them look great. I cannot really decide which way keep him displayed so I keep switching between his phone and knife. I guess I will just make him talk with his knife and everything will be all right.

Enjoyment: 9/10

This figure gave me pure enjoyment and Alter has gained a fan. If his delay made him look this good, I will be more understanding when Alter delays a figure. I loved every single part of this figure and I recommend getting him if you are a fan of the series and the character. Even if you do not know him and you are an Alter fan that likes male figures, I recommend getting this figure.

If you had doubts about getting this figure, I hope this had helped you.

Name: Orihara Izaya (折原臨也)
Origin: Durarara!! (デュラララ)
Publisher: Alter (アルター)
Released: 2012/12
Reviewer: Shuuru
Buy: Play-Asia | Plamoya

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

